Lesotho
Visa Lesotho
Afrique · Afrique australe
In Lesotho, entry and stay fall under the Department of Immigration of the Ministry of Home Affairs. The page consulted on 2026-09-17 distinguishes the single-entry visa, valid for three months, and the multiple-entry visa, valid for six months, then lists the residence permits: temporary for 90 days, two-year, four-year study permit and indefinite permit. It states that visas have been applied for online since May 2017 and residence permits since November 2018.
The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.
Machine-assisted draft, reviewed by a person on 23 September 2026. Only the authority cited is authoritative.
Published on 23 September 2026 · Reviewed by vg_admin on 23 September 2026 · Sources consulted on 17 September 2026
At a glance
- Authority
- Department of Immigration, Ministry of Home Affairs of the Kingdom of Lesotho
- Submission channel
- Online according to the page consulted: visas since May 2017, residence permits since November 2018; the address of the online service is not stated on the page read
- Electronic visa
- The page consulted states that visas are applied for online, without describing the document issued or the address of the service
- Portal language
- English
Do you need a visa?
Choose a nationality to see the recorded entry rule. No answer is shown until reviewed data exists.
Documented visa types
- Single entry visa
- According to the page consulted, intended for a single trip and valid for three months. Official page (new tab)
- Multiple entry visa
- According to the page consulted, intended for several trips and valid for six months. Official page (new tab)
- Temporary permit
- According to the page consulted, issued for 90 days. Official page (new tab)
- Two-year residence permit
- According to the page consulted, issued for two years. The categories listed include in particular the business permit, the family reunification permit and the spouse permit. Official page (new tab)
- Study permit
- According to the page consulted, issued for four years. Official page (new tab)
- Indefinite permit
- Category named on the page consulted. Conditions and documents: not stated on the portal consulted. Official page (new tab)
Where and how to apply
The page consulted states that visas have been applied for online since May 2017 and that residence permits have been applied for online since November 2018. It does not publish the address of the online service on the page read.
The page lists the categories of residence permit: missionary permit, business permit, family reunification permit, permit for a spouse joining their spouse, permit for returning former nationals, permit for doctors and nurses, permit for teachers.
A page on the same site devoted to the suspension of online visa applications was requested on 2026-09-17: the server replied "Page not found (HTTP 404)". No information was therefore drawn from it.
Steps in the procedure
- Determine the category matching the intended stay: single-entry or multiple-entry visa, or residence permit.
- File the application online, under the arrangements the page announces for visas since May 2017 and for residence permits since November 2018.
- Not stated on the portal consulted: the pages read state neither the documents to attach, nor the payment arrangements, nor how the examination proceeds.
- In the absence of information on the portal, contact the Department of Immigration of the Ministry of Home Affairs for the procedure to follow.
Documents mentioned by the authority
- Not stated on the portal consulted: the page read describes the visa and permit categories without listing the documents to attach.
The exact list depends on the visa type and on the situation; only the official page is authoritative.
Stated fees and processing times
Fees: not stated on the portal consulted. No amount or currency appears on the page read on 2026-09-17.
Processing times: not stated on the portal consulted.
After the decision
Not stated on the portal consulted: the page read describes neither the notification of the decision, nor avenues of appeal, nor the formalities on arrival. The decision rests with the competent authority.
The site also offers a passport tracking tool. That page was not consulted and does not concern visas.
Published procedures
No reviewed and published procedure for Lesotho to date. We prefer an empty page to an invented requirement.
Explore proceduresFrequently asked questions
Is a visa required to travel to Lesotho?
It depends on nationality and on the purpose of travel; the rule reviewed by VisaGuideline is shown with the nationality selector on this page. Always check with the authority.
Where is the application filed?
According to the page consulted, visas have been applied for online since May 2017 and residence permits since November 2018. The address of the online service is not published on the page read.
How long is a visa valid?
According to the page consulted, the single-entry visa is valid for three months for a single trip, and the multiple-entry visa is valid for six months for several trips.
Which residence permits does the page name?
A temporary 90-day permit, a two-year residence permit, a four-year study permit and an indefinite permit, with categories such as missionary, business, family reunification, spouse, returning former nationals, doctors and nurses, and teachers.
Is there an electronic visa?
The page consulted states that visas are applied for online, without describing the document issued or publishing the address of the service. Not stated on the portal consulted for the rest.
What are the fees and processing times?
Not stated on the portal consulted: the page read on 2026-09-17 publishes no amount, no currency and no processing time.
Official sources
Consulted sources
Official pages read to write this guide, with the date they were read. A page may have changed since: check it before taking any step.
- Immigration Services (new tab) read on 17 September 2026
- Page non trouvée (HTTP 404) (new tab) read on 17 September 2026
What this guide does not know yet
Points the official source does not specify and which this guide therefore left blank. Ask the competent authority about them before filing an application.
- The page announces online applications without publishing the address of the service: a reviewer must establish which portal is the official channel before VisaGuideline cites it.
- The page of the site devoted to the suspension of online visa applications returns a 404 error: its status must be checked, since it could affect the availability of the service.
- Neither the documents, nor the fees, nor the processing times are published on the page consulted.
- The site refers to a separate domain, apparently non-governmental, for certain procedures: an authorized reviewer must settle its status before any citation.
Prepare my case
This method is the same for every destination. It does not list any document as an official requirement: only the authority’s source is authoritative.
-
Describe your situation
Nationality, residence, purpose and dates. The checker tells covered routes apart from situations that are still unknown.
-
Check at the source
Open the destination’s official source and compare it with your situation before starting a procedure.
-
Track what is left to do
Your space keeps your answers and your declared checklist. A complete checklist does not announce a favorable decision.
The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.