Skip to content
VisaGuideline
Menu

Norfolk Island

Visa Norfolk Island

Océanie · Australie et Nouvelle-Zélande

Norfolk Island is an Australian territory. Visas fall under the Department of Home Affairs of the Australian government, whose portal consulted on 2026-09-17 publishes the list of Australian visas and a guidance tool. An official page devoted to the island states that no passport or visa is required to travel there from mainland Australia, but that photographic identification must be shown to border officers and that a passenger card must be filled in.

The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.

Machine-assisted draft, reviewed by a person on 23 September 2026. Only the authority cited is authoritative.

Published on 23 September 2026 · Reviewed by vg_admin on 23 September 2026 · Sources consulted on 17 September 2026

At a glance

Authority
Australian Government — Department of Home Affairs; controls carried out by the Australian Border Force
Where to apply
Online application through the Department of Home Affairs services (ImmiAccount), according to the portal consulted
Electronic visa
The portal names electronic authorizations among the visitor visas, including the “Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601)” and the “eVisitor (subclass 651)”
Portal language
English

Do you need a visa?

Choose a nationality to see the recorded entry rule. No answer is shown until reviewed data exists.

Documented visa types

“Visitor (subclass 600)” — visitor visa
According to the page, for tourists, business visitors or a family visit, for 3, 6 or 12 months. Basic conditions read: being a genuine visitor and having sufficient funds for the stay and the departure. Official page (new tab)
“Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601)”
Category named in the official list of visitor visas. Conditions and duration not stated on the pages consulted. Official page (new tab)
“eVisitor (subclass 651)”
Category named in the official list of visitor visas. Conditions and duration not stated on the pages consulted. Official page (new tab)
“Transit visa (subclass 771)” — transit visa
Category named in the official list of visitor visas. Conditions and duration not stated on the pages consulted. Official page (new tab)
“Working Holiday visa (subclass 417)” and “Work and Holiday visa (subclass 462)”
Categories named in the official list of visitor visas. Conditions and duration not stated on the pages consulted. Official page (new tab)
“Student visa (subclass 500)” and “Skills in Demand (subclass 482)”
Examples from the study and work families of the official list, which also includes family, humanitarian and permanent residence visas. Conditions not stated on the pages consulted. Official page (new tab)

Where and how to apply

According to the portal consulted, the Department of Home Affairs provides online services for filing an application, reporting a change, tracking the status of a file or withdrawing it, through ImmiAccount and VEVO. It also offers a guidance tool that asks a few questions to identify the visas that may be suitable.

The official page devoted to Norfolk Island states that scheduled air services depart from Sydney and Brisbane, that flights use the international terminals and that the conditions applying to international movements apply: an incoming passenger card must be filled in, and both people and baggage are checked by border and biosecurity officers.

Steps of the procedure

  1. Determine whether the trip starts from mainland Australia or from overseas.
  2. From mainland Australia: no passport or visa is required according to the page consulted, but photographic identification must be shown for each passenger.
  3. From overseas: identify the Australian visa suited to the plan, using the Department of Home Affairs guidance tool.
  4. File the application through the department's online services, including ImmiAccount.
  5. Track the status of the application through those same services.
  6. On arrival, fill in the incoming passenger card and present yourself to the border and biosecurity officers for checks.

Documents listed by the authority

The exact list depends on the visa type and on the situation; only the official page prevails.

Stated fees and processing times

Not stated on the portal consulted: the pages read do not publish the amount of the visa charges. Each visa page on the portal carries its own fee, not consulted here.

Not stated on the portal consulted: no processing time is given on the pages read. The durations quoted for the visitor visa, 3, 6 or 12 months, are lengths of stay and not decision times.

After the decision

The decision rests with the Department of Home Affairs. The portal offers online services for checking the conditions attached to a visa, reporting a change of circumstances and finding out what to do when a visa is about to expire.

The page devoted to Norfolk Island states that the Australian biosecurity act of 2015 has applied to movements to the island since July 1, 2016, and that import conditions apply to all goods arriving there. It specifies that no penalty is applied when all items are declared, even if they are not allowed in.

Published procedures

No reviewed and published procedure for Norfolk Island to date. We prefer an empty page to an invented requirement.

Explore procedures

Frequently asked questions

Is a visa required to travel to Norfolk Island?

It depends on nationality, purpose and point of departure; the rule reviewed by VisaGuideline is shown with the nationality selector on this page. Always check with the authority.

What if you are coming from mainland Australia?

According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-17, no passport or visa is required to travel to Norfolk Island from mainland Australia; photographic identification must nevertheless be shown for each passenger.

Where is the visa application filed?

Through the online services of the Department of Home Affairs, including ImmiAccount, according to the portal consulted.

Which visitor visa categories does the authority name?

The official list names the Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601), the eVisitor (subclass 651), the transit visa (subclass 771), the visitor visa (subclass 600), the Work and Holiday visa (subclass 462) and the Working Holiday visa (subclass 417).

How long does the visitor visa last?

According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-17, the visitor visa (subclass 600) covers a stay of 3, 6 or 12 months, for tourists, business visitors or a family visit.

What happens on arrival on the island?

According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-17, flights use the international terminals: an incoming passenger card must be filled in, and both people and baggage are checked by border and biosecurity officers.

Consulted sources

Official pages read to write this guide, with the date they were read. A page may have changed since: check it before taking any step.

What this guide does not know yet

Points the official source does not specify and which this guide therefore left blank. Ask the competent authority about them before filing an application.

Prepare my case

This method is the same for every destination. It does not list any document as an official requirement: only the authority’s source is authoritative.

  1. Describe your situation

    Nationality, residence, purpose and dates. The checker tells covered routes apart from situations that are still unknown.

  2. Check at the source

    Open the destination’s official source and compare it with your situation before starting a procedure.

  3. Track what is left to do

    Your space keeps your answers and your declared checklist. A complete checklist does not announce a favorable decision.

The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.