Skip to content
VisaGuideline
Menu

Rwanda

Visa Rwanda

Afrique · Afrique de l’Est

In Rwanda, visas fall under the Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration. The pages consulted on 2026-09-17 publish a detailed table of visitor visa classes, each designated by a code, with its purpose, its duration and its fee in United States dollars. The application is filed online on the national service portal, at a Rwandan diplomatic mission, at the headquarters of the Directorate General or, for certain classes, at a border post.

The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.

Machine-assisted draft, reviewed by a person on 23 September 2026. Only the authority cited is authoritative.

Published on 23 September 2026 · Reviewed by vg_admin on 23 September 2026 · Sources consulted on 17 September 2026

At a glance

Authority
Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration — the directorate general of immigration and emigration of Rwanda
Submission channel
Online on the national service portal to which the official page refers, at a Rwandan diplomatic mission, at the headquarters of the Directorate General, or at a border post for the classes the page flags as issuable on arrival
Electronic visa
The official page refers to a national service portal for an online application; it does not describe the permit issued as an electronic visa
Portal language
English

Do you need a visa?

Choose a nationality to see the recorded entry rule. No answer is shown until reviewed data exists.

Documented visa types

"V1" — holiday visa
According to the official page: holidays, tourism, social or recreational purposes and other short-term purposes. Duration: 30 days single entry, 90 days multiple entry. Official page (new tab)
"V2" — family visit visa
According to the official page: visiting family. Duration: 30 days single entry, 90 days multiple entry. Official page (new tab)
"V5" — conference and meeting visa
According to the official page: conference, meeting, workshop or any similar activity. Duration: 30 days. Official page (new tab)
"V6" — business exploration visa
According to the official page: investor, entrepreneur or trader coming to explore business opportunities. Duration: 90 days. Official page (new tab)
"V7" — medical treatment visa
According to the official page: treatment or medical consultation confirmed by a recognized practitioner. Duration: 90 days. Official page (new tab)
"V11" — East Africa tourist visa
According to the official page: a tourist wishing to visit the countries signatory to the agreement establishing the East Africa tourist visa. Duration set by that agreement. Official page (new tab)

Where and how to apply

The official visitor visa page states four submission channels: online, through the national service portal to which it refers; at the office of the Rwandan diplomatic mission in the applicant's country; at the headquarters of the Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration; and, for certain classes, at a border post on arrival.

The page notes in particular that classes V1, V2, V5 and V11 are among those that can be issued at a border post. It groups all the permits by code, from VE-1 to V12, with the purpose, the duration and the fee for each.

Steps in the procedure

  1. Identify, in the table published by the Directorate General, the visa class matching the purpose of the stay.
  2. Check the duration and the fee announced for that class, as well as the number of entries authorized.
  3. Obtain a genuine and acceptable travel document, valid for at least six months.
  4. File the application online on the national service portal, at a Rwandan diplomatic mission or at the headquarters of the Directorate General.
  5. For the classes the page flags as issuable on arrival, the application may be made at a border post.
  6. The later steps are not stated on the pages consulted.

Documents mentioned by the authority

The exact list depends on the visa type and on the situation; only the official page is authoritative.

Stated fees and processing times

According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-17: class V1 and class V2, 50 United States dollars single entry and 70 dollars multiple entry; class V5, 50 dollars; class V6, 50 dollars single entry and 70 dollars multiple entry; class V7, 30 dollars; class V11, 100 dollars. The table also publishes the fees for the other classes, including 150 dollars for the tourist group visa and 200 dollars for the itinerant business visa.

The page also provides for exemption from charges for certain classes and for nationals covered by an exemption arrangement; these cases depend on nationality and are not reproduced here. Refer to the nationality selector on this page and to the official page. Processing times are not stated on the portal consulted.

After the decision

The decision rests with the Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration. The published table states, for each class, the length of the authorized stay and the number of entries.

The official page mentions a class V10, called transitional, intended for a foreign national who has lost their status and is preparing to leave or to make a new application. The grounds for refusal and the avenues of appeal are not described on the pages consulted.

Published procedures

No reviewed and published procedure for Rwanda to date. We prefer an empty page to an invented requirement.

Explore procedures

Frequently asked questions

Is a visa required to travel to Rwanda?

It depends on nationality and on the purpose of travel; the rule reviewed by VisaGuideline is shown with the nationality selector on this page. Always check with the authority.

Where is the application filed?

Online on the national service portal to which the official page refers, at a Rwandan diplomatic mission, at the headquarters of the Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration, or at a border post for the classes the page flags as issuable on arrival.

How are Rwandan visas designated?

By a code. The official page publishes a table running from VE-1 to V12: V1 for holidays, V2 for a family visit, V5 for conferences, V6 for business exploration, V7 for medical treatment or V11 for the East Africa tourist visa.

What are the stated fees?

According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-17: 50 United States dollars single entry and 70 dollars multiple entry for classes V1, V2 and V6; 50 dollars for class V5; 30 dollars for class V7; 100 dollars for class V11.

What is the processing time?

Not stated on the portal consulted.

What minimum passport validity is required?

According to the official page, the applicant must present a genuine and acceptable travel document, valid for at least six months.

Consulted sources

Official pages read to write this guide, with the date they were read. A page may have changed since: check it before taking any step.

What this guide does not know yet

Points the official source does not specify and which this guide therefore left blank. Ask the competent authority about them before filing an application.

Prepare my case

This method is the same for every destination. It does not list any document as an official requirement: only the authority’s source is authoritative.

  1. Describe your situation

    Nationality, residence, purpose and dates. The checker tells covered routes apart from situations that are still unknown.

  2. Check at the source

    Open the destination’s official source and compare it with your situation before starting a procedure.

  3. Track what is left to do

    Your space keeps your answers and your declared checklist. A complete checklist does not announce a favorable decision.

The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.