United Arab Emirates
Visa United Arab Emirates
Asie · Asie de l’Ouest
In the United Arab Emirates, visas and entry permits are handled by the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Security (ICP). The official portal presents the "Issuance of a Visa" service and several residence services, filed through the ICP's smart services platform or its mobile application. This page reproduces the categories, steps, documents, fees and processing times as stated on the official pages consulted on 2026-09-17.
The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.
Machine-assisted draft, reviewed by a person on 23 September 2026. Only the authority cited is authoritative.
Published on 23 September 2026 · Reviewed by vg_admin on 23 September 2026 · Sources consulted on 17 September 2026
At a glance
- Authority
- Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Security (ICP)
- Submission channel
- The ICP's smart services platform (website) and the UAEICP mobile application, according to the pages consulted
- Electronic visa
- The portal states that the application and the payment are made online through its smart services
- Portal language
- English (version consulted); the portal also offers an Arabic version
Do you need a visa?
Choose a nationality to see the recorded entry rule. No answer is shown until reviewed data exists.
Documented visa types
- "Issuance of a Visa"
- Service covering, according to the page, visiting relatives, residence without employment, tourism, medical treatment and accompaniment, work missions, and studies, training and qualification. Duration: not stated on the portal consulted. Official page (new tab)
- "Visa Extension"
- Service listed by the authority; conditions and duration: not stated on the portal consulted. Official page (new tab)
- "Issuance of a Residence Visa for an Investor in Public Investments"
- Residence visa for an investor in public investments, as named by the authority; duration: not stated on the portal consulted. Official page (new tab)
- "Entry Permit Issuance for Real Estate Investor Residency"
- Entry permit linked to the residency of a real estate investor, as named by the authority; duration: not stated on the portal consulted. Official page (new tab)
- "Issuance of a Residence Visa for an Entrepreneur"
- Residence visa for an entrepreneur, as named by the authority; duration: not stated on the portal consulted. Official page (new tab)
- "Issuance of a Residence Visa for Individuals with Specialized Talents"
- Residence visa for individuals with specialized talents, as named by the authority; duration: not stated on the portal consulted. Official page (new tab)
Where and how to apply
The ICP portal states two submission channels for the issuance of a visa: the ICP's smart services platform, accessible online, and the UAEICP mobile application. The pages consulted mention no paper filing.
The "Issuance of a Visa" service page states that the application is sent through the chosen channel, then that the form data is verified, the attachments added and the fees paid online before the final document is issued.
Steps in the procedure
- File the application through the chosen channel (the ICP smart services website or the UAEICP application).
- Check and correct the form data.
- Attach the requested documents.
- Pay the fees.
- Receive the final document issued by the authority.
Documents mentioned by the authority
- Passport.
- Identity photo.
- Medical report, where applicable.
- Employment contract or employer's certificate, for a work mission.
- Tenancy contract.
- Proof of family relationship.
- University certificate, for studies.
- Travel ticket.
The exact list depends on the visa type and on the situation; only the official page is authoritative.
Stated fees and processing times
According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-17, the "Issuance of a Visa" page states: application fee 100 AED; single-entry visit visa 100 AED; multiple-entry visit visa 200 AED; smart service fee 100 AED; guarantee for a single entry 1,000 AED; guarantee for multiple entries 2,000 AED.
According to the same page consulted on 2026-09-17, the service delivery time is 2 days. The other residence services listed on the portal do not state their fees or processing times on the pages consulted.
After the decision
The service page states that the applicant receives the final document at the end of the procedure. The authority decides on issuance.
The portal also lists separate services to amend the data of a visa, to extend it or to cancel it. Their conditions are not stated on the pages consulted.
Published procedures
No reviewed and published procedure for United Arab Emirates to date. We prefer an empty page to an invented requirement.
Explore proceduresFrequently asked questions
Is a visa required to travel to the United Arab Emirates?
It depends on nationality and on the purpose of travel; the rule reviewed by VisaGuideline is shown with the nationality selector on this page. Always check with the authority.
Where is the application filed?
Through the ICP's smart services platform or through its UAEICP mobile application, according to the official pages consulted.
Is there an electronic visa?
The ICP portal states that the application, the documents and the payment go through its online services. The term "electronic visa" does not appear as such on the pages consulted.
What fees are stated?
According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-17, the "Issuance of a Visa" page states 100 AED in application fees, 100 AED for a single-entry visit visa and 200 AED for multiple entries, to which service fees and guarantees are added.
What processing time does the authority announce?
According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-17, the delivery time stated for the issuance of a visa is 2 days. That time is the one displayed by the authority, not a guarantee.
Official sources
Consulted sources
Official pages read to write this guide, with the date they were read. A page may have changed since: check it before taking any step.
- Home ICP (new tab) read on 17 September 2026
- Issuance of a Visa (new tab) read on 17 September 2026
What this guide does not know yet
Points the official source does not specify and which this guide therefore left blank. Ask the competent authority about them before filing an application.
- On the pages consulted, the portal does not state the length of stay or the validity associated with each visa or residence category.
- The fees and processing times for the residence services (investor, entrepreneur, specialized talents, real estate investor) are not stated on the pages consulted.
- The division of responsibilities between the ICP and the local authorities of each emirate is not described on the pages consulted.
Prepare my case
This method is the same for every destination. It does not list any document as an official requirement: only the authority’s source is authoritative.
-
Describe your situation
Nationality, residence, purpose and dates. The checker tells covered routes apart from situations that are still unknown.
-
Check at the source
Open the destination’s official source and compare it with your situation before starting a procedure.
-
Track what is left to do
Your space keeps your answers and your declared checklist. A complete checklist does not announce a favorable decision.
The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.