Côte d'Ivoire
Visa Côte d'Ivoire
Afrique · Afrique de l’Ouest
In Côte d'Ivoire, visas fall under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation and are handled by the embassies and consulates general, whose sites are hosted on the state domain diplomatie.gouv.ci. The visa described there is a biometric visa: online payment, appointment, then filing of the file and biometric enrollment at the post. The embassy in France publishes the documents to be provided, a total cost of 50 euros excluding bank charges and processing within forty-eight hours after enrollment.
The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.
Machine-assisted draft, reviewed by a person on 23 September 2026. Only the authority cited is authoritative.
Published on 23 September 2026 · Reviewed by vg_admin on 23 September 2026 · Sources consulted on 18 September 2026
At a glance
- Authority
- Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Côte d'Ivoire; applications are received by the embassies and consulates general, whose sites are hosted on the state domain diplomatie.gouv.ci
- Submission channel
- Biometric visa: online payment, online appointment booking, then filing of the file and enrollment at the post. The state pages send payment, the form and the appointment to platforms hosted outside the state domain
- Electronic visa
- Not stated on the portal consulted: the state pages read cite an "e-visa" application, but send it to a platform hosted outside the state domain, which was not consulted
- Portal language
- French
Do you need a visa?
Choose a nationality to see the recorded entry rule. No answer is shown until reviewed data exists.
Documented visa types
- "Visa affaires" (business visa)
- Category of the embassy. Specific documents cited: letter of invitation, hotel booking confirmation, proof of financial means. Duration: the cost announced holds for a visa valid 1 to 3 months. Official page (new tab)
- "Visa pour visite privée" (private visit visa)
- Category of the embassy. Specific documents cited: hotel booking confirmation or letter of invitation. Duration: the cost announced holds for a visa valid 1 to 3 months. Official page (new tab)
- "Visa tourisme" (tourist visa)
- Category of the embassy. Specific documents cited: hotel booking confirmation or proof of financial means. Duration: the cost announced holds for a visa valid 1 to 3 months. Official page (new tab)
- "Visa pour mission" (mission visa)
- Category of the embassy. Specific documents cited: letter of invitation, hotel booking confirmation, mission order. Official page (new tab)
- "Visa d'études ou de recherches" (study or research visa)
- Category of the embassy. Specific documents cited: university enrollment or pre-enrollment certificate, school certificate or recent diploma, proof of accommodation, financial means or scholarship letter, health insurance taken out. Official page (new tab)
Where and how to apply
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation publishes its site on the state domain diplomatie.gouv.ci and lists there its diplomatic missions and its consulates general. Its "Nos services" page carries no visa service: it lists portals for scholarships, legalization, official passports and international careers.
The visa pages read are those of the diplomatic posts, hosted on subdomains of the same state domain. The page "Pièces à fournir pour l'obtention du visa biométrique à l'ambassade", published by the embassy of Côte d'Ivoire in France, describes a biometric visa filed at the post after an online payment and an online appointment booking.
The same page states the post's hours: filing of files from 9:30 a.m. to 12 noon, collection of visas from 3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. The embassy states that it covers France and the Principality of Monaco.
The page of the consulate general in Paris offers, for its part, three separate forms, entitled "Demande de visa officiel", "Demande de visa militaire" and "Demande de visa ordinaire", without describing their conditions. Like the other state pages read, it refers to payment, form, appointment and electronic visa platforms hosted outside the state domain; those platforms were not consulted and are not cited here.
Steps in the procedure
- Determine the category applied for from those listed by the post: business, private visit, tourism, mission, study or research.
- Make the online payment: the page places "the original of the receipt for the payment made online" at the head of the documents in the file.
- Book an appointment online on the site indicated by the post and keep the appointment confirmation, which is also required.
- Complete and sign the visa application form.
- Gather the common documents listed by the post, then the documents specific to the category applied for.
- File the file at the embassy during the stated hours, from 9:30 a.m. to 12 noon, and undergo biometric enrollment.
- Await processing: the page announces a file processed within forty-eight hours after enrollment.
- Collect the passport at the post during the stated collection hours, from 3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Documents mentioned by the authority
- The original of the receipt for the payment made online.
- The appointment confirmation.
- The visa application form duly completed and signed.
- One identity photograph 4.5 cm by 3.5 cm, less than six months old.
- The passport valid for at least six months, with a photocopy of the first three pages.
- The original of the full copy or the extract of the birth certificate.
- The photocopy of the school certificate or of the student card.
- The international certificate of vaccination against yellow fever.
- A detailed confirmation of the flight booking, or a photocopy of the ticket.
- Depending on the category: letter of invitation, hotel booking confirmation, proof of financial means, mission order, university enrollment certificate, proof of accommodation, health insurance.
List published by the embassy of Côte d'Ivoire in France. It may differ from one post to another; the exact list depends on the visa type and on the situation, and only the official page of the post approached is authoritative.
Stated fees and processing times
According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-18, the page of documents to be provided of the embassy of Côte d'Ivoire in France states: "Total cost: 50 Euros (excluding bank charges) (Visa valid 1 to 3 months)". Payment is made online before the appointment, and its original receipt is one of the documents in the file. That amount is the one announced by this post; the prices of the other posts are not stated on the pages consulted.
According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-18, the same page states that the visa file is processed within forty-eight hours after enrollment. It states the post's hours: filing of files from 9:30 a.m. to 12 noon, collection of visas from 3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m.
After the decision
The page read states that the passport is collected at the post, during the collection hours announced. It describes neither the notification of the decision, nor the grounds for refusal, nor the avenues of appeal: not stated on the portal consulted. The consular authority decides.
The only indication of validity appearing on the pages read is the one attached to the price: a visa valid 1 to 3 months. The number of entries allowed, the length of stay and the conditions for an extension on the spot are not stated on the portal consulted.
Published procedures
No reviewed and published procedure for Côte d'Ivoire to date. We prefer an empty page to an invented requirement.
Explore proceduresFrequently asked questions
Is a visa required for Côte d'Ivoire?
It depends on nationality and on the purpose of travel; the rule reviewed by VisaGuideline is shown with the nationality selector on this page. Always check with the authority.
Where is the application filed?
At an embassy or a consulate general of Côte d'Ivoire. The pages read describe a biometric visa: online payment, online appointment, then filing of the file and enrollment at the post, with collection of the passport in person. The directory of diplomatic missions is published by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
Is there an electronic visa?
Not stated on the portal consulted. The embassy sites hosted on the state domain cite an "e-visa application", but refer to a platform outside the state domains, which was not consulted and is therefore not cited here. A reviewer must establish its official attachment before any mention.
What fees and what processing times does the authority announce?
According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-18, the embassy of Côte d'Ivoire in France announces a total cost of 50 euros excluding bank charges, for a visa valid 1 to 3 months, and a file processed within forty-eight hours after enrollment. These indications hold for this post; the other posts are not covered by the pages read.
What visa categories do the official pages cite?
The embassy in France cites the business visa, the private visit visa, the tourist visa, the mission visa and the study or research visa, each with its specific documents. The consulate general in Paris also offers forms for an official visa, a military visa and an ordinary visa, without describing their conditions.
Does the ministry publish a national visa portal?
Not stated on the portal consulted. The site of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation publishes the diplomatic directory and a list of online services — scholarships, legalization, official passports — but no national page devoted to entry visas.
Official sources
- Ambassade de Côte d'Ivoire en France (new tab) Embassy or consulate
Consulted sources
Official pages read to write this guide, with the date they were read. A page may have changed since: check it before taking any step.
- Ministère des Affaires Etrangères et de la Coopération Internationale :: Accueil (new tab) read on 18 September 2026
- Ministère des Affaires Etrangères et de la Coopération Internationale :: Nos services (new tab) read on 18 September 2026
- Pièces à fournir pour l'obtention du visa biométrique à l'ambassade — Ambassade de Côte d'Ivoire en France (new tab) read on 18 September 2026
- Ambassade de Côte d'Ivoire en France (new tab) read on 18 September 2026
- Obtenir le visa pour la Côte d'Ivoire — consulat général de Côte d'Ivoire à Paris (new tab) read on 18 September 2026
- Service Public de Côte d'Ivoire — fiche « Obtention de visa pour la France » (new tab) read on 18 September 2026
What this guide does not know yet
Points the official source does not specify and which this guide therefore left blank. Ask the competent authority about them before filing an application.
- The documents, the price and the processing time come from a single post, the embassy in France. No national page publishes them: a reviewer must check whether they hold for the whole network.
- The state pages send payment, the form, the appointment and the "e-visa" to platforms hosted outside the state domain. None was consulted or cited; their official attachment must be established before any mention.
- The ministry's site publishes no national page on entry visas; its list of online services carries none.
- The page of the consulate general in Paris cites an official visa, a military visa and an ordinary visa without describing them: their conditions remain to be documented.
- The only duration published is "visa valid 1 to 3 months", attached to the price. The number of entries, the length of stay allowed and the conditions for an extension are not stated.
- The site of the embassy in the United Kingdom (royaumeuni.diplomatie.gouv.ci), also on the state domain, did not respond on 2026-09-18: the connection was interrupted. It might publish a different price.
- The record found on servicepublic.gouv.ci and proposed as a candidate describes obtaining a visa for France, not for Côte d'Ivoire: it is not a source for this file.
Prepare my case
This method is the same for every destination. It does not list any document as an official requirement: only the authority’s source is authoritative.
-
Describe your situation
Nationality, residence, purpose and dates. The checker tells covered routes apart from situations that are still unknown.
-
Check at the source
Open the destination’s official source and compare it with your situation before starting a procedure.
-
Track what is left to do
Your space keeps your answers and your declared checklist. A complete checklist does not announce a favorable decision.
The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.