Gambia
Visa Gambia
Afrique · Afrique de l’Ouest
In the Gambia, visas fall under the Gambia Immigration Department (GID). The “Visa” page consulted on 2026-09-17 names five categories: single journey, multiple journey, transit, diplomatic visa and short visit visa. The “Entry Requirements” page on the same site states that the visa is obtained from Gambian embassies, missions and consulates abroad, or on arrival at points of entry. Visa fees and processing times are not stated on the portal consulted.
The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.
Machine-assisted draft, reviewed by a person on 23 September 2026. Only the authority cited is authoritative.
Published on 23 September 2026 · Reviewed by vg_admin on 23 September 2026 · Sources consulted on 17 September 2026
At a glance
- Authority
- Gambia Immigration Department (GID) — the immigration service of the Gambia
- Where to apply
- According to the page consulted: Gambian embassies, missions and consulates abroad, or a visa issued on arrival at points of entry
- Electronic visa
- Not stated on the portal consulted
- Portal language
- English
Do you need a visa?
Choose a nationality to see the recorded entry rule. No answer is shown until reviewed data exists.
Documented visa types
- “Single Journey Visa” — single-entry visa
- Described by the page as a visa valid for a single trip or a single entry into the Gambia. Official page (new tab)
- “Multiple Journey Visa” — multiple-entry visa
- Valid for the stated number of journeys to and from the Gambia, for a validity period not exceeding 12 months according to the page. Official page (new tab)
- “Transit Visa” — transit visa
- Issued to allow the holder to pass through the Gambia en route to another destination, according to the page. Official page (new tab)
- “Short Visit Visa” — short-stay visa
- For people making a short visit to the Gambia, for a period of 90 days according to the page. Official page (new tab)
- “Diplomatic Visa” — diplomatic visa
- Issued only to heads of mission, granted by Gambian missions abroad; the page states that no fee is charged. Official page (new tab)
Where and how to apply
The “Entry Requirements” page consulted on 2026-09-17 states that the visa to enter the Gambia may be obtained from all Gambian embassies, missions and consulates abroad, or on arrival at points of entry.
The pages consulted describe no online application service: “Not stated on the portal consulted.” The choice of channel depends on the traveler's situation; only the authority can state it for a given case.
Steps of the procedure
The pages consulted set out no numbered steps: “Not stated on the portal consulted.” They indicate only where the visa is obtained and the entry conditions to be presented at control.
According to the “Entry Requirements” page, entry and stay require holding a particular immigration status, a valid permit or authorization, or being the dependent of a holder of such a status.
Documents listed by the authority
- A valid passport bearing a visa, where the traveler is not exempt from the visa requirement.
- Employment contract.
- International health certificates valid for this entry.
- “Entry Clearance”, where applicable.
- Visible means of sustenance.
- A valid PCR certificate less than 72 hours old on arrival, as mentioned on the page consulted.
The exact list depends on the visa type and on the situation; only the official page prevails.
Stated fees and processing times
According to the portal consulted on 2026-09-17, no visa fee is published on the pages read: “Not stated on the portal consulted.” The “Visa” page states only that no fee is charged for the diplomatic visa.
According to the same portal consulted on 2026-09-17, the “Entry Requirements” page mentions a Securiport fee of 1,000 dalasis (D1000), presented as the equivalent of 20 United States dollars, with exemptions for diplomats and children aged 2 and under; the page specifies that this airport fee is not imposed by the GID.
No processing time is stated on the pages consulted: “Not stated on the portal consulted.”
After the decision
According to the “Entry Requirements” page, the visa states its validity, the number of journeys allowed and the authority that issued it.
The pages consulted describe neither an appeal nor an extension of stay: “Not stated on the portal consulted.” The decision rests with the competent Gambian authority.
Published procedures
No reviewed and published procedure for Gambia to date. We prefer an empty page to an invented requirement.
Explore proceduresFrequently asked questions
Is a visa required to travel to the Gambia?
It depends on nationality and purpose; the rule reviewed by VisaGuideline is shown with the nationality selector on this page. Always check with the authority.
Where is the application filed?
According to the official page consulted on 2026-09-17, the visa is obtained from Gambian embassies, missions and consulates abroad, or on arrival at points of entry.
Is there an electronic visa?
Not stated on the portal consulted. The pages read describe no online application service.
Which visa categories does the authority name?
The “Visa” page of the Gambia Immigration Department names the single journey visa, the multiple journey visa, the transit visa, the short visit visa and the diplomatic visa.
What are the fees and processing times?
Not stated on the portal consulted for visas. The “Entry Requirements” page mentions a Securiport fee of 1,000 dalasis, presented as the equivalent of 20 United States dollars, which it states is not imposed by the GID.
Official sources
Consulted sources
Official pages read to write this guide, with the date they were read. A page may have changed since: check it before taking any step.
- Visa – The official Website of Gambia Immigration Department (new tab) read on 17 September 2026
- Entry Requirements – The official Website of Gambia Immigration Department (new tab) read on 17 September 2026
What this guide does not know yet
Points the official source does not specify and which this guide therefore left blank. Ask the competent authority about them before filing an application.
- The pages consulted publish neither a visa fee nor a processing time: a reviewer must decide whether VisaGuideline refers readers to the Gambian missions for these elements.
- The “Entry Requirements” page still mentions a PCR certificate less than 72 hours old: it must be checked with the authority whether this health requirement is still in force.
- The page mentions a visa exemption based on nationality, which is not reproduced here: it falls under the visa policy rules reviewed separately.
- No page consulted describes appointment booking, the application form or the arrangements for the visa on arrival.
Prepare my case
This method is the same for every destination. It does not list any document as an official requirement: only the authority’s source is authoritative.
-
Describe your situation
Nationality, residence, purpose and dates. The checker tells covered routes apart from situations that are still unknown.
-
Check at the source
Open the destination’s official source and compare it with your situation before starting a procedure.
-
Track what is left to do
Your space keeps your answers and your declared checklist. A complete checklist does not announce a favorable decision.
The information on this page helps prepare a case. Only the competent authority decides; always check the official source before filing an application.